I've started retro-posting.

I write better in my room than in here, so I started writing my posts at home and just posted them this morning. So unless you’re reading my RSS feed, you’ll have to hunt for them. That’s okay, I’ll give you a hint; besides this one, there are only two. This is probably the only time I’ll do this, since tomorrow R and I hope to set up the Livebox that FT rented us.

Yesterday I went back to Nancy to have my lungs x-rayed and to wait around a lot with the same people until the pouvoirs that be pronounced me healthy. And I am. Hurrah.

Today I have one more class at 1:30 and then I am done for the day. I already had one class with some kids who asked me very interesting questions, such as do I like Bush. I’m trying to come up with unoffensive, easy-vocab ways of saying that I think he’s ruining my country, and that as much as I try to understand his motives, I just can’t respect his policies especially on, you know, casual things like institutionalized torture. So I just say I’ve disliked him for a long time.

This afternoon I really am going to buy a phone. I’m not kidding this time. I know you’re thinking, Eileen, you’ve said this about ten times since arriving in France. Or you’re not thinking that since you probably just skim this page and don’t have a running dialogue with it. BUT, I have my bank card, my checks, my RIB, and everything else I think they could possibly want from me. I just have to hope, since I’m going alone, that the salesman won’t mind talking slowly.

5 thoughts on “I've started retro-posting.

  1. laurel says:

    That’s so exciting about the Livebox! We had one too, and it was generally reliable and had cute blinky lights. I really like your updates and I’m happy you’ve found people you like. I had to get that weird lung x-ray too.

    Did you like Middlesex? I liked it a lot. Amsterdam was good, though I didn’t like it as much as Atonement. I think I like books with important female characters, and the only one in Amsterdam was kind of dead. Did you know they’re making Atonement into a movie with Keira Knightley, directed by the guy who did the new P&P? I don’t know how I feel about that.

    gros bisous.

  2. Hey. I’m not sure how I feel about Amsterdam. I finished it yesterday (it is pretty short) without feeling much one way or the other. I’ve heard such good things about Atonement, though, that I need to pick it up and finish it.

    I have a phone now! And three hours to use up before the end of Saturday.

  3. laurel says:

    I didn’t realize you hadn’t read Atonement. You must! Can you get it there? Otherwise I can send it to you as a housewarming gift!! đŸ™‚

What do you think?

