Lonely Planet

I dunno what it was I had against Lonely Planet books (maybe it was just my undying love for Let’s Go) but Lonely Planet Africa (from whenever, post-2000, I’m too lazy to look up the date and why isn’t it on the cover? Let’s Go 1 Lonely Planet 0) is awesome. Okay that sentence got slightly self-contradictory due to parenthicals. I apologize. The point is I’m having a blast reading about where I can sleep AND get a hot shower in Morocco and Tunisia and about where to never travel in Africa, at least not till [fill in here] war is over. I’m really tempted to just keep this book but it’s on my dad’s library card so I think he would have something to say about that. Plus I guess I don’t REALLY believe in stealing from public libraries (which btw don’t exist in France, U.S. 1 France 0–umm I guess the scoring is actually more complicated than that). And let me just say that I am categorically opposed to parentheses-within-parentheses. Though not, apparently, opposed to jumping back and forth nonsensicaly between parentheticals and non-parentheticals. Hey, who went to publishing camp and became a punctuation nerd? Oh wait, I was always a punctuation nerd.

Well now, that paragraph went off on an unforeseeable direction. So, Lonely Planet Africa is fascinating and seemingly useful. I’ve discovered that the three African countries (besides the southeast which is not a whole lot closer to France than to the US) that I’d want to travel to are Tunisia, Morocco, and Senegal. Sadly, because of war/boundary issues there is no way to travel between these three countries so maybe I’ll just stick to Morocco. Malavika is already prepared to be bullied into going there with me.

My small bag must be approaching fifty pounds. I almost stubbed my toe on it last night, and small bags shouldn’t be able to stub toes. I need to go shopping this weekend and buy
1) Replacement adaptor (I will find the renegade one some day, I swear)
2) Clinique make-up (is it just me or is that stuff more expensive in France? in any case I’m almost out)
3) huge bottle of baby aspirin (I dropped my daily dosage for headaches and I mean Oprah says it’s healthy to take one baby aspirin a day so how can it be wrong?)
and surprisingly I think that’s it.

Let me just say I don’t think this post would have so many parentheses if I had more to do right now. Also let me add for my general readership (Laurel and Mom) that if you see a time stamp that doesn’t make any sense (5am) it’s because I never changed back from GMT+1 when I was in denial in June and I forgot to change it manually for that post. I mean seriously, I don’t stay up even till 11:30 here.

8 thoughts on “Lonely Planet

  1. laurel says:

    I think my posts are probably still on who-knows-what time. PST? PDT? And once I tried to change the time zone and it went back and changed it on all the posts I had ever posted, which was not my intention. But the point of this comment was to say, public libraries do exist in France! Toulouse had a big fancy high-tech “M?©diath?®que” which not only had tons of books for check-out (including a bunch in English) but also a huge selection of sheet music and CDs and DVDs, which you could watch/listen to on-site with the aid of headphones and comfy chairs and flat-screen TVs. It was probably the high-tech-est thing in that town. I never actually checked out a book because I was too lazy/intimidated to ever try to figure out how to get a library card, but my friend Jennie did check out movies so I assume it could be done.

  2. I guess I meant free public libraries. There was a mediateque in Bar le Duc which I spent significant time at, and they had a surprisingly great CD section. Was yours free? I mean ours wasn’t that expensive, they gave me the student rate of 6euros for the year. But still.

  3. laurel says:

    I suspect the library card may not have been free. Like I said, I wouldn’t know. But I do know you could just go in there and read books on the premises for free. Because that I did.

  4. No, my appointment in Houston isn’t till Monday. I have electronic copies of my work contract and the Houston consulate has faxed copies but as yet no real originals have shown up in my mailbox. Am starting to get ticked off again. They should’ve just sent them by some form of faster mail. But hopefully the faxed copies will be good enough.

  5. Emily says:

    I think that taking books from the library is usually free, and it costs money to borrow CDs and other stuff. Of course, you can’t expect anything in France to be consistent.

What do you think?

