Bleh

Well I was sicker than I thought. I haven’t unlocked the door to my apartment in about two days now since I’ve been wallowing here either in self-pity or in a fever. Anyway, I’m almost better, I should be able to teach tomorrow, and there are some things I should get done. Like I need to buy new glasses (as in the kind you drink out of) and an ice tray would be nice too. I’d like to find things to hang on my walls but I’m having trouble finding anything.

Sundays are so weird here. EVERYTHING is closed. It’s like America in the 1950s. Or how I imagine America in the 1950s. It’s not because the French are religious. It’s because they think they all deserve a day off to be with their families. Which is not really so crazy, except that those of us who don’t have families nearby and need to go to the pharmacy are SOL. Sometimes I think they maybe have it right though, this thing where they all stay within 100 miles of their families as long as they can help it.

I’m thinking of putting up some ads for private English lessons or babysitting. Or finding out where I can take a Spanish class. I was hesitating because I’m not sure how much time I’ll have when my full hours kick in but that’s not till the end of November anyway.

What do you think?

