Oblitérer

I totally thought it meant obliterate. I mean not literally as in unequivocally destroy. Just, you know, get rid of. WRONG. It’s like the same thing as composter, which the other lecteurs clarified for me last night. So it’s a good thing I wasn’t obliterating my ticket after getting on the bus like the signs were telling me to. You know, tearing it into tiny little pieces or burning it. Which is a funny image. Also obliterate is just a funny word when talking about bus tickets. In fact it keeps making me laugh randomly.

3 thoughts on “Oblitérer

  1. laurel says:

    I don’t know if I remember ever encountering that word. I definitely remember composting the billets though. I never quite understood why that was necessary.

  2. Composter means stamping, like a ticket… another misleading word. You remember those little yellow machines in the train stations where you had to stick in your ticket to get the date stamped? That’s composting.

What do you think?

