Austin City Limits

So I’ve been pretty much awol the past few days because I was at ACL and had very little energy/time for much else. Jessi (from Reims) arrived Friday morning and we went to Zilker Park around 1, which was our pattern all three days. My pictures of the bands are generally crummy (I need a better camera) but I’ll put up the best ones anyway.

Vampire Weekend is the first band we definitely wanted to see. I seemed to be having something of a sun stroke problem though so while we started out up near the front, we had to go toward the back to sit down so I would stop wilting.

I met up with Jessica from high school and some of her pharmacy school friends (one of whom was also named Jessica) to watch N.E.R.D. who, I have stay, I found pretty entertaining.

J and I started out Day 2 with the Fleet Foxes, who I had never heard of but who were pretty good.

I don’t remember who was playing in this picture. This one’s just more to give an idea of the size of the herds of people that were there.

Me and Conor Oberst

These are the only good pictures I got of Beck. (My camera can’t really take pictures at night.) But he was a great show. The lighting was really interesting. It actually added to the show which was a first for me.

Trying to do these in chronological order. This was on our walk back to downtown the second night.

The Raconteurs (well, mostly just Jack White)

I didn’t get any good pictures of Band of Horses but I love them so much that I had to put this in. They were really good live. I think they were surprised at how many people there were for them. But they were the high point of the festival for me (and I knew they would be).

So! Otherwise, I also saw (trying to do it in order…):
Day 1: part of Jamie Lidell (still was trying not to pass out here), Gogol Bordello (although I was mostly talking to Jessica during this since we hadn’t seen each other in two years), Jenny Lewis (though briefly because of sun stroke problem), Manu Chao
Day 2: The Drive-By Truckers, Eli Paperboy Reed and the True Loves, CSS, MGMT, Iron & Wine (kind of disappointing)
Day 3: Gillian Welch (with David Rawlings), Stars (though I didn’t pay much attention), Neko Case, Okkervil River

And I passed up Tegan & Sara (who I’ve seen twice, once in March in Paris) to see Band of Horses (who I’ve never seen). It was hard. But it had to be done. I just hope a lot of other people showed up for them.

I had no idea music festivals were so exhausting. I think it was the sun/standing/walking. Fortunately I don’t have class tomorrow. Unfortunately I have to get 50 pages read by tomorrow afternoon so we can try to have a group meeting.

What do you think?

