Dreams from My Father

Okay not my father, I’ve been reading and just finished Obama’s first book, since my landlords own it and I had nothing else to read. I really recommend it (though I’m well aware lots of people out there read it before I did). It’s really interesting to read it now after the election. For instance, here’s the blurb on Obama in the back of the book (in case you didn’t know who he was (!!!)):

“Barack Obama is the Democratic nominee to become the junior U. S. senator from Illinois. He began his career as a community organizer in some of Chicago’s poorest communities, and then attended Harvard Law School, where he was elected the first African-American president of the Harvard Law Review. … In addition to his legislative duties, Obama is a senior lecturer in constitutional law at the University of Chicago Law School, practices civil rights law, and has served on the board of directors of various charitable organizations. He lives in Chicago’s Hyde Park neighborhood with his wife, Michelle, and daughters Malia and Sasha.” (1995 Three Rivers Press)

A little weird to read now that Sasha and Malia are household names and he has been elected the first African-American president of the UNITED STATES.

It wasn’t just the bio that was uncanny, though, it was the whole book, from the pages about Harold Washington (first black mayor of Chicago) and how he meant so much to the black population there, to the pages about churches in Chicago and Rev. Jeremiah Wright, to the scene upon his arrival in Kenya where he’s stunned when the airline employee recognizes his name. It’s a really good book though, I found it really enlightening and I’m so glad to have such a deeply thoughtful president.

2 thoughts on “Dreams from My Father

  1. Laurel says:

    Arg, now that your blog has moved it no longer shows up in my RSS feeds on google reader. I removed the old link and added the new one (which is really the same link) but still no posts from after the transfer show up. So I had no idea these posts were here. And I can’t get them to show up in my reader. Arg.

    That’s exciting about France! Now I have an excuse to go back to get some more of that great muesli. Are there any chateaux around Poitiers for us to fail to bike to? 🙂

What do you think?

