Good lord, some of my students do not know how to write.

I don’t know what their writing in French is like. Some of them litter their writing with contractions, the first person, “it’s,” etc, and a lot of them are terrible about run-ons. I think some of this comes from French, but not all of it. A lot of them write in a really personal style. They all do paragraphs differently and some of them thought double spacing meant triple spacing. It’s a good thing they turned in rough drafts. But it means a lot of marking for me this week.

2 thoughts on “Good lord, some of my students do not know how to write.

  1. As a former French teacher, the only thing I can say is… you wouldn’t believe how many people don’t master basic grammar skills in either language.

    I kept on trying to teach my English student to conjugate their verbs etc. until I realized they didn’t know what a verb was. And my students were middle-age government employees!

  2. lol, that sounds like such fun. Mine are pretty smart, I think they just haven’t had to do this before. And being myself something of a grammar nerd I’m probably a little hard on them.

What do you think?

