Reading in French

I’ve decided to seriously start reading in French. Two reasons: 1) My oral French has improved exponentially over the past four years but not as much the written and 2) I miss reading. I’ve always wanted to read more in French, but the problem is, as soon as I ask for suggestions, people tend to suggest either 1) Zola/Hugo/Balzac or 2) Marc Levy/Anna Gabalda/romans policiers. And, well, I read lots of #1 in college, and #2 is not really my thing. I like, you know, Margaret Atwood, Marilynne Robinson, Joseph Heller, etc., things written in this century that make you think or cry or laugh. So I’ve cobbled together a reading list from different sources and here’s what I hope to check out over the next few months:

1) Annie Ernaux: Les Années (already reading this, it’s pretty good, recommended by a French acquaintance)
2) Daniel Pennac: Messieurs les enfants
3) Muriel Barbery: L’Elégance du hérisson
4) Bernard du Boucheron: Court serpent
5) Éliette Abécassis: Mère et fille
6) Alice Ferney: Paradis conjugal
7) Sylvie Germain: L’Inaperçu
8 ) Nina Bouraoui: Appelez-moi par mon prénom

Any suggestions?

One thought on “Reading in French

  1. Emily says:

    If you like Atwood’s dystopian stuff, try Moi qui n’ai pas connu les hommes by Jacqueline Harpman – we read it in one of Mme Denis’s classes. I also like Les Candidats by Yun-Sun Limet, which is one of those thinking/crying books.

What do you think?

