I wish we could pick a (grammatical) person

for talking about the world cup:

 

And I for one am all for not pretending that a country is plural.

In related news, the French team is imploding, and it’s the only story on any French World Cup or sports site. Apparently the nightly news spent 17 minutes on it yesterday. I went onto the New York Times expecting it to be a big deal and they’re continuing to cover other teams like normal.

Seriously I think there’s one World Cup story on lequipe.fr that’s not about France.

One thought on “I wish we could pick a (grammatical) person

  1. I can’t believe how much they can still write about it. Four pages in Ouest France yesterday… on a team that lost everything and doesn’t give interview!

What do you think?

