How I spend my days

Since getting back from Avignon I’ve been keeping up a pretty good schedule of CAPES preparation. I made myself a fancy word document detailing what I should get done every day (click on it if you actually want to see it closer up):

So mostly I’m trying to do practice translations, read the CAFEP grammar packet, and catch up on British history and literature. This has been my reading list lately:

Le monde britannique (1815-1931), which is from the CNED and is actually for the history CAPES. Am a little confused as to why they sent it out with the English CAPES with no explanation, but I can guess why they would think it was useful. I’ve actually finished reading this one and while it was unnecessarily in-depth (since it is, after all, written for history teachers), it made it clear how little I knew about British history post-Elizabeth I, and I do feel like I learned a lot. I didn’t enjoy all of it (especially the economy-heavy parts, which, to be honest, I skimmed) but I did like all the sections about Ireland.

A Handbook of Literary Terms by Françoise Grellet, which I haven’t actually started. It looks like it’ll bring me back pretty heavily to high school English.

Civilisation des États-Unis by Marie-Christine Pauwels which looks to be not actually that useful for someone who grew up in the States and needs something more in-depth. But I’ll browse it anyway.

Literature in English by good old F. Grellet. Have started this and it’s bringing me back to my days in the Mac English department.

Le Royaume-Uni Aujourd’hui by Pierre Lurbe. Lord did I know nothing at all about how the English government works. Some of it I still find confusing—do NOT understand the whole “first past the post” concept.

Syntaxe Comparée du français et de l’anglais by Jacqueline Guillemin-Flescher. Am not sure I have the morale for this. Have definitely not yet cracked it open.

All the grimpeurs have left on their big two-week trip to Austria. Most other people are also gone on vacation leaving me with like, one friend in Poitiers. In general the city is certainly emptier right now, although surprisingly full of tourists. I hear lots of other languages around and see lots of French families as well who have clearly come in from somewhere to walk around the town with their kids. Sometimes I wonder if I’m the only one on the street who actually lives here.

Since I’m mostly alone for the moment, I’m trying to do at least a little pilates every day, and eat better, and go to the market. Going to the market always means I spend more money on food (prices are a little higher, plus everything is so temmmmpting) but I feel that it’s worth it right now. I need good food to keep me company!

One thought on “How I spend my days

What do you think?

