Recent French movies I’ve liked

J has a problem remembering actors and movies and storylines, but we nonetheless seem to watch a lot of movies. When the Cesars were given out in for movies from 2010, we went to town watching the winners.

I had already seen Des hommes et des dieux (Of Gods and Men) at the TAP Cinema in Poitiers last summer. It’s excellent. It made me remember what it feels like to feel called to do something out of love, a feeling that came back to me when I did my little mandatory training at for the Enseignement Catholique back in February. The bishop who came to speak with us the first day talked about how teaching was an act of love, which for me it very much is, though of course not always in the day-to-day grind. It can be easy to forget.

Less serious is Le Nom des gens which I really liked, and which won for Best Actress. It’s very funny and funnier if you know just a little about French politics (you really don’t have to know very much!).

This week J and I went to see Et soudain, tout le monde me manque. Also funny, also really good. The soundtrack was also really good. Highly recommend. I’m always happy when I find French movies I like—it’s not always easy, I’m pretty picky about movies anyway.

What do you think?