The Futuroscope

The Futuroscope is Poitiers’ claim to fame. It’s a medieval city and all but that’s not the reason there’s a direct TGV line from Paris. A full day at the Futuroscope theme park costs 36 euros, so I’ve been patiently waiting to get a free ticket in order to go. My American friend Dan had a friend from Nancy coming down to Poitiers last week, and they decided to go to the Futuroscope the day after J’s parents gave me a free ticket they had laying around. It was meant to be.

The weather was perfect, which was not guaranteed after a week or so of rain. We got to the park at 10:30 in the morning and left at 11 pm. We had all the insider tips, including avoiding the 8 euro parking fee by parking at the Auchan.

I had a great time. I didn’t take my camera so I’ve swiped some pictures of Dan’s and Sarah’s:

The bleachers for the evening light show

Two very cool people on the other side of that same building

Another snazzy building

Welcoming us to the Petit Prince show (one of our favorites)

Some wacky statues on the grounds

The park is really clean and pretty and doesn’t have that gross theme-park feel that I remember from some Six Flags parks. It wasn’t too crowded for comfort either and we were there in the middle of the summer. We went to three 3D shows, and the 3D is very good—not like in regular “3D” movie theaters. We had to stop with the 3D because we were all getting headaches. We only did one ride with the moving seats, but it was my favorite: “La Vienne dynamique,” or a tour around the region in a racecar. My other favorite was an Imax of the night sky. A good use of a summer day!

2 thoughts on “The Futuroscope

  1. Laurel says:

    Hey, thanks for the postcard! I got it yesterday. I am still a bit mystified by the name “Futuroscope” though. Is there an actual scope of any sort?

  2. There are no scopes as far as I know, though there are so many weird things there, I could be wrong.
    And obviously from the date of the post and the date of the postcard you can see it took me a while to get that thing in the mail!

What do you think?

