The days go by so fast now.

I can’t believe it’s been almost a week since I posted! Time is flying by. The Toussaint vacation is in a week and a half. Or, I should say, “vacation,” because we teacher trainees actually have two days of training the first two days of the holiday. In Tours. And I have a prefecture appointment at 9 am on the first day of vacation. In Poitiers. It seems like nothing is going to line up right this year in terms of planning.

I’m trying to let things roll off of me a little, like said prefecture appointment that will make me miss a morning of training. And the numerous articles circulating about the trouble people are having getting their titres de séjour for permanent work permits. Mine is still technically temporary, so I’m counting on it still coming through. But I will feel a whole lot better once I have it in my hands!

We had our first real day of training today which reminded me of all the things I’m supposed to be doing in planning my classes which I’m not. Well, I am, but not all that well.

So, I say “vacation” in quotation marks, because I have a week and a half, but two days for training, one day going to Paris to get my certificat de coutume, and the rest of the time probably sorting out all of the stuff I’m falling behind on.

And J won’t even be here to sleep in with me till 7:45 in the morning. He’s going to India for two weeks. Am hoping to cure my jealousy by focusing on my plan to spend some of next summer traveling with American friend Dan around Europe.

What do you think?

