T minus three weeks! (or two weeks if you’re J)

The school year is passing quickly and the plane tickets that J and I bought back in September will soon be put to use. In two weeks, J will leave for one week of girlfriend-free rock-climbing near El Paso, Texas, and in three weeks, I’ll fly out to join him. Five days later, we’ll fly to San Antonio to spend ten days with my parents.

I’m so excited!!!

So first, we’ll (or he’ll), do this:

Bouldering in Hueco. Photo from  Socorro Boulding Guide

Bouldering in Hueco. Photo from Socorro Boulding Guide

Then, I hope to make him eat the following things:

ihope

Pancakes with fruit and whipped cream or something else equally wonderful

Or plain cheescake, we can go back to basics. Real cheesecake seems to not exist in Europe.

Or plain cheescake, we can go back to basics. Real cheesecake seems to not exist in Europe.

Texas-barbecued beef brisket

Texas-barbecued beef brisket

I hope to also eat here:

La Gloria at the Pearl Brewery. Photo from My SA

La Gloria at the Pearl Brewery. Photo from My SA

And Ju was reading in Escalade magazine yesterday about climbing at Enchanted Rock, where I have been of course, since it is in Texas Hill Country. So we’ll check that out too.

Photo by me from a trip there in 2009. LIke normal people, we walked up it without venturing into the boulder climbing.

Photo by me from a trip there in 2009. LIke normal people, we walked up it without venturing into the boulder climbing.

Other items on the list include the Riverwalk, the Alamo, SAMA, La Villita, El Mercado/Historic Market Square, Five Guys Burgers, some sort of bagel shop, Sea World, and… and… and… too many things to remember.

I’m so excited! Unfortunately we didn’t reserve early enough to get assured entry into Hueco Tanks State Park, which means that J will have to wait in line at 7 every morning to get in, and, worse, that I will probably have to do it with him for a least three days. Apparently, in the Texas desert in February, it’s -10 (F) at night, and early in the morning. So much for not packing warm clothes.

Also, American Airlines has no crashpad (climbing equipment) policy, so we would have probably had to pay $450 to get J’s crashpad to the States and back. Instead, J plans on buying a new one at the Hueco Rock Ranch (where we’re staying) and mailing it back to France on our last day in El Paso (for about $75). It seems really silly—you can send your skis, your surfboard, and your tent as checked luggage free of charge, but no one so far has thought to put a crashpad (which is very light and BUILT to crash against things!) on that list.

Only three weeks!

2 thoughts on “T minus three weeks! (or two weeks if you’re J)

  1. I’m sure you two are going to have a great trip! I just got off the phone with my mom, and she’s picking vacation time at work. She’s like “When are you two coming? I’ll take time off!”. It’s sweet, but until I find a work placement and have those dates set, I can’t make any plans to go home 😦

    And that’s ridiculous about American Airlines! But I guess that’s probably something people don’t travel with very often??

  2. Thanks! And yeah, we certainly waited too. We’ve been together 2 and a half years and this is his first trip to the States. Timing was tricky! And it IS a lot of money.

What do you think?

