The Liebster Award

So it’s been a month since my last very brief post about the band photos. I’ve sat down with the blog a couple of times but without any real inspiration for what news to give. That trend seemed ready to continue a while longer until yesterday, when I visited Je Parle Américain’s blog and saw that he’d nominated me, among others, for a blogger award. Thanks for the perfect excuse to write something new.

liebster

Part 1: In keeping with the principles of the award, I’ll start by giving eleven facts about myself that hopefully are not too boring.

  1. I grew up in Texas and a little (big?) part of my soul will always live there. Nothing about Texas is overrated. I like to think of it as the Brittany of the US, and sometimes explain it to French people that way: If you’re from there, you feel so lucky that you can’t stop bragging about it, and most people hate you for it and even possibly think the place is mostly inhabited by assholes.
  2. I started learning French from a Frenchwoman at school when I was six.
  3. My brother also speaks French fluently, which is very convenient now I’m practically married to a Frenchman.
  4. I started learning to play the violin when I was seven.
  5. I started learning to play the banjo two months ago and it is slow going.
  6. I originally came to France as a language assistant and planned on returning to the US to try to work in publishing. That plan was put on the back-burner and eventually scrapped altogether when I realized I wanted to a) stay in France and b) teach foreign languages.
  7. I’ll apply for French nationality in September 2014.
  8. When I was little, I wanted to be a writer, a teacher, an architect, and an astronaut (not all at the same time). The teacher thing was mostly about getting to write on the blackboard, and the astronaut thing was mostly about the movie Apollo 13.

… Okay that’s it, I can’t think of four more interesting things!

Part 2: Next, my answers to the nominator’s questions:

  1. What’s the first substantial thing you have a clear memory of writing? This is a tough one, since I used to write all the time when I was little; stories every week in second grade; a newspaper story contest in 6th grade; an embarrassingly long sci-fi story I wrote as a project in 8th grade; a script for an animated tv show with friends in 9th grade.
  2. What’s your guilty pleasure? I have so many! Kelly Clarkson, Taylor Swift, Le Bonheur est dans le pré…
  3. Sun or moon? I love the moon illusion. When the moon is low on the horizon I also often think of that scene in Moonstruck.
  4. Coffee or tea? Coffee, thanks to the machine in the salle des profs. At 35 cents a coffee, and a coffee every other day , how much do I spend in one school year?
  5. Who’s your favorite writer (fiction, non-fiction, contemporary, 1000 years old, whatever genre and period you decide)? Just one? I think that’s probably impossible. But if I had to choose just two, I would say Jane Austen and Marilynne Robinson.
  6. Your first celebrity crush? I was never really much for celebrity crushes.
  7. Have you ever written a book? If so, what is it? If not, and you could do it, what would be the subject? If I could write a book, it would surely be a work of fiction. I think that’ll never happen though.
  8. What destination is at the top of your dream vacation list? I’d like to go to Alaska and to Petra, in Jordan.
  9. What infuriates you more than anything else? Students thinking I give a damn about what’s going on with their pencil case (so-and-so stole it, knocked it off the desk, tossed it across the room…).
  10. What makes you smile more quickly than anything else? Puppies. Or a puppy. One will do.
  11. If you had to live during any other period of history, which one would you pick? Every other period of history seems like it was so much harder than ours, that this is hard to choose. I’d probably go with some intellectually stimulating time period, like the Belle Epoque.

Part 3: Finally, my nominees and questions for them. Nominees are supposed to have less than 200 followers, and I’m not sure how to count followers, so I’m just going to assume…

The French Turtle Experience

Académoiselle

Wanderlost

La Nomade Moderne

Kari in France: An American Girl dans le Nord

Here are my questions:

  1. What’s your favorite travel destination, of any of the places you’ve ever been to?
  2. Do you have a favorite quote?
  3. Why do you keep a blog?
  4. What’s the best movie you’ve seen recently?
  5. How do you most like to spend your time when you’re not working/fulfilling some other obligation?
  6. What foreign language(s) do you speak and how did you come to learn them?
  7. What is one of your favorite songs?
  8. What’s the worst job you’ve ever had?
  9. The best?
  10. What job did you want to do when you were little?
  11. If you won the lottery, what would you do first?

Here’s hoping everyone can find the time to respond! And maybe I’ll post something else one of these days…

3 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

What do you think?

