San Franciiiiiiisco

When you go on vacation to San Francisco, you spell it with many more i’s than usual.

And indeed, that’s what I have done. I just got home from ten days of visiting my brother and going to my friend Laurel’s wedding. We’ll save the wedding for another post.

Besides scrubbing my brother’s filthy bathtub before resigning myself to showering in it, the early days of my séjour in the Bay Area involved hanging out with Laurel, Ed, and their friends.

By the Fisherman's Wharf eating low-grade greasy food

By the Fisherman’s Wharf eating low-grade greasy food

Peering out from amidst the food at the Ferry Building

Peering out from amidst the food at the Ferry Building

After Laurel and Ed left on their honeymoon, I spent a few days exploring SF on my own while my brother worked.

The living roof of the California Academy of Science

The living roof of the California Academy of Science

The high school by Dolores Park in the Mission

The high school by Dolores Park in the Mission

More

More

And more

The high school by Dolores Park in the Mission

Houses seen from Dolors Park

Houses seen from Dolors Park

My last day on my own, I went to Alcatraz. It cost $30, but I thought it was worth it. The weather was beautiful that afternoon, and the boat ride across the Bay gave beautiful views of the city. Once at the island, there were more glorious views of the city and the Bay to be had.

From the boat

The Bay Bridge from the boat

Alcatraz from the boat

Alcatraz from the boat

One of the furnished cells

One of the furnished cells

My brother was free over the weekend to hang out, so we started by going out to Muir Woods, including massive traffic over the Golden Gate Bridge.

But I took lots of pictures of this part so it's okay.

But I took lots of pictures of this part so it’s okay.

Bro at Muir Woods

Bro at Muir Woods

Sunday afternoon we went to the beach, which was fairly empty because it was overcast, but I didn’t mind. We saw some wacky wind-blown trees and I drank a lemonade while Liam had a Lagunita IPA.

IMG_2373

For now I am happy to be home and clean and in my own bed. This trip back seemed more exhausting than ever, which I guess is normal, considering I usually am coming back from Texas and not California. In fact I got to discover a new airport this time—Newark International. That was exciting probably only for my Foursquare account. But the super fast 6.5-hour transatlantic flight was a bit of a shock. Where was my sleeping time?? As usual I’ve arrived home pretty much wiped out.

Many thanks to my brother for this trip, and to Laurel for being the impetus! More on that to come!

4 thoughts on “San Franciiiiiiisco

  1. Laurel says:

    That wind-blown tree is nuts! I’m glad you made it to Alcatraz & the Cal Academy. It was so great getting to see you. See you in Oct.!

What do you think?

