The school year is freaking blowing by.

… and I am so grateful. I don’t mean that I’m miserable and want it to go faster. I mean the opposite—I’m so relieved that I’m not counting the days and the weeks. Despite the occasional difficult hours with a class here and there (and those definitely do still exist), I feel much better going to work in the morning and coming home at the end of the day. I really can’t believe how fast it’s going.

1) Conseils de classe are finished for the first trimester. Hurrah! I have my BTS meetings in January but those will be quite different since they take place in the afternoon and won’t keep us at school till 7 or 8 pm.

2) I did my first conseil de classe myself! A colleague helped me prepare for it but I feel pretty confident now about them.

3) I celebrated Thanksgiving! I’ve made three loaves of pumpkin bread so far, and two thirds of the pumpkin are still in my freezer waiting for me to roast and puree it to make more.

4) I’ve been rock-climbing! I was going regularly once or twice a week until Thanksgiving when I bizarrely cut my thumb on a pumpkin (I did say bizarrely) and it got infected. I got back in the game yesterday and will be going to Etxauri with Ju and his friends after Christmas. Unfortunately I am still quite frightful in outdoor climbing so I’m not sure I’ll do much.

I think part of the reason I’m sitting here marveling at this time of year is because I was out on sick leave at this time last year, so I haven’t actually experienced it for two years. It’s a relief to be able to be out and about, though my left foot is getting more and more painful and I should return to see the surgeon soon. Surgery is just such a pain in the arse. I would really like to finish the school year without it!

What do you think?

