Naturalized

In preparation for the wedding, or more like the marriage, I’ve been getting my file ready to change status for my next titre de séjour. I even went so far as to get another copy of the translation of my birth certificate, and went over to the CAF for an attestation from them. Turns out it was all unnecessary because…

I’ve been French since June 10th!

Yesterday I slept in, ate lunch early, and got in the car to drive to La Rochelle to get my bac papers to grade. On my way out I thought about checking the mail but was entirely too lazy to do that. So, four hours later, when I got home, Julien had left an unopened envelope on the kitchen table from the French Ministry of the Interior.

Of COURSE it was my naturalization letter! I had planned on getting down to work immediately on my bac papers, but obviously had to go into town to celebrate instead. I feel like everyone should see it printed on my forehead, but of course nobody knows unless I tell them.

So I canceled my prefecture appointment for my now-unneeded titre de séjour and e-mailed a copy of the letter to my employer. I’m unfortunately, as far as I can tell, in some paper-less limbo now that means travel to the US or outside of the Schengen zone is potentially complicated, so fortunately I didn’t have any trips like that planned. Within six months I should get my French birth certificate and be able to request my French national ID card and passport. I’ll be awaiting it excitedly.

It’s been a great summer so far: a great birthday last Friday, a new nationality, and soon, a wedding.

8 thoughts on “Naturalized

  1. Gwan says:

    Congratulations! You still keep your U.S. Passport though? Is it getting back in to france that would be the problem?

  2. Congratulations! I’m lazy about checking the post too, so this could totally happen to me … if I ever get over my laziness about applying of course.

  3. Hey everyone thanks for all the well-wishes!
    Gwan: yes you’re right I absolutely do have my US passport. Going to the States would in theory not be a problem since French customs have never asked to see my titre de séjour. GERMAN customs have though, when I had a lay-over in Munich. Also, England would probably be a problem since they are such sticklers with paperwork and always ask a million questions.

  4. L says:

    My birth certificate was really quick to arrive (2-3 weeks?) after I verified the info. If you then contact the Préfecture to turn in your carte de séjour (instead of waiting for the ceremony) you could get your French ID card in about 3 months.

    • That’s good to know… So I’ll keep a look out for the verification. The wedding is happening in the middle of this process so there could be a mistake about that depending on their timing!

What do you think?

