Summer 2015

This summer promises to be a bit more packed than most others, though I guess I’ve almost always had projects going on.

I’ll finally be actually on vacation tomorrow night, once I participate in the jury for the bac in La Rochelle.

This past weekend though I did brave the heat wave and spend some time outside. My brother and his wife are taking French classes in Tours for three weeks, so I joined them to (re)visit Chenonceau and Amboise. And though it was not as shenanigan-ish as the last time, it was still nice, and there are actually things have no memory of seeing before (a third floor at Chenonceau?).

Chenonceau gardens in July

Chenonceau gardens in July

Then yesterday Julien had a couple friends in town, so we invited my brother and SIL to come down for a USA-themed BBQ. I feel like now that I’m French, I can be more unabashedly American.

My outfit, thanks to the soldes

My outfit, thanks to the soldes

J and part of our spread (the burgers were still on the grill)

J and part of our spread (the burgers were still on the grill)

This next week should be pretty chill until my family arrives next Monday and wedding stuff starts up.

After the wedding, we’ll leave for Brittany, where J has never been. We’ve reserved a little hotel between Mont-saint-michel and Saint-Malo. Then we’ll cross the country to head to some as-yet-undecided rock-climbing destination either in Spain or in the south of France. We’ll be back here early August.

What do you think?

